• Vision of a racing car conceived for an innovative single-brand championship starting in 2020
  • New “arrive and drive” experience in Lamborghini’s motorsport programmes
  • Dedicated racing components and a 25% weight reduction compared to the production model

 

Middle East, 28 November 2018 – Lamborghini Squadra Corse has unveiled the Urus ST-X Concept, the racing version of the first Super SUV in the brand’s history, that is to be used for an innovative single-brand championship that combines race circuit and off-road track.

Announced during the 2018 World Finals, the new format will debut in 2020 in the Middle East and Europe on specially prepared FIA-approved circuits, with an “arrive and drive” formula designed to offer driver-customers a complete package including car and technical support during the race weekends.

The Urus ST-X Concept applies Lamborghini Squadra Corsa’s motorsport experience to a brand-new segment. Compared to the production model, the Urus ST-X Concept has been mechanically optimised and equipped with all the FIA-approved safety elements, including steel roll cage, fire suppression system and FT3 fuel tank.

Andrea Baldi, The CEO of Automobili Lamborghini EMEA, said: “High performance cars and motorsport are both very popular in the Middle East, which is why this region represents the ideal location for this innovative championship. It will be the perfect platform for fans of speed, power and luxury to satisfy their passion. The Urus ST-X embodies the true spirit of Lamborghini, and provides the ultimate performance in high-end luxurious design – this car will disrupt the racing industry as we know it.”

 

Aesthetically, the Urus ST-X Concept is characterised by the matt Verde Mantis (green) livery in addition to the hood in visible carbon fibre. Larger air intakes optimise the cooling of the V8 twin-turbo engine which is capable of delivering 650 hp (478 kW) and 850 Nm of torque. The overall look is completed by the rear wing, the lateral racing exhausts with a new hexagonal design, and 21” single-nut aluminium alloy wheels fitted with Pirelli tires.

The development of the racing configuration has also led to a 25% weight reduction compared with the production model. The light weight, along with the raised set-up and torsional stiffening provided by a roll cage integrated in the frame, contribute to making the Urus ST-X Concept a race car for track and off-road use without compromise. Its track debut will take place during the 2019 Lamborghini World Finals.

###

Photos and videos: media.lamborghini.com

Information on Automobili Lamborghini: www.lamborghini.com

Automobili Lamborghini S.p.A.
Headquarters
Head of Communications Brand & Corporate Communications Product Media Events & Collezione
Gerald Kahlke Clara Magnanini Rita Passerini
T +39 051 9597611 T +39 051 9597611 T +39 051 9597611
gerald.kahlke@lamborghini.com clara.magnanini@lamborghini.com rita.passerini@lamborghini.com
Corporate Media Events Motorsport Communications Polo Storico & Heritage
Chiara Sandoni Francesco Colla Massimo Delbò
T +39 051 9597611 T +39 051 2156850 T +39 3331619942
chiara.sandoni@lamborghini.com extern.francesco.colla@lamborghini.com massimo@delbo.us
Regional Offices
Europe, Middle East & Africa Asia Pacific North & South America
Emanuele Camerini Silvia Saliti Jiannina Castro
T +39 342 567 5842 T +65 9651 8955 T +1 703 3647926
emanuele.camerini@lamborghini.com silvia.saliti@lamborghini.com jiannina.castro@lamborghini.com
United Kingdom Japan
Juliet Jarvis Kumiko Arisawa
T +44 (0) 7733 224774 T +81 804 606 0487
juliet@jjc.uk.com kumiko.arisawa@lamborghini.com
Middle East & Africa Chinese mainland, Hong Kong & Macao
Zantelle Van der Linde Nancy Rong 荣雪霏
T +971 56 522 1545 T +86 10 6531 4614
zantelle.vanderlinde@lamborghini.com xuefei.rong@lamborghini.com
Eastern Europe & CIS South-East Asia & Pacific
Tamara Vasilyeva Alethea Tan
T +7 925 503  6706 T +658711 1329
tamara.vasylyeva@lamborghini.com alethea.tan@lamborghini.com